Brechin City Football Club

Glebe Park, Brechin, Angus DD9 6BJ

Tel : 01356 623344
Email :

Strathspey Thistle 1 Brechin City 6

Match Report - By John Hoey

Brechin City proved to be too strong for basement side Strathspey Thistle running out comfortable 6-1 winners in the top versus bottom clash at Seafield Park.

It was in the end an emphatic win for City who were 2-0 ahead after just sixteen minutes with the Strathy Jags pulling a goal back five minutes later. The hosts worked hard to restrict City further goal-scoring opportunities as the half-wore on, restricting space which the visitors strikers found difficult to exploit.

However, City were much more ruthless and clinical in the second-half scoring a further four goals without reply as Strathspey, who hadn’t played for six weeks began to tire and the winning margin might have been even greater if it hadn’t been for young home goalkeeper Ethan Rae with the youngster who has only recently celebrated his sixteenth birthday bringing off a string of fine saves to deny City.

Manager Gavin Price made just one change from the side that had defeated Lossiemouth in midweek with Nathan Cooney replacing Kevin McHattie.

City made the early running and they grabbed the lead after just 12 minutes when a Jamie Richardson cross was headed past his own keeper by Strathy skipper JAMES MCSHANE and it was 2-0 for the visitors just four minutes later when Luke Strachan picked up the ball on the left touchline and pushed forward before drilling a low cross across the face of the Strathspey goal with EWAN LOUDON the first to react, slotting the ball past home keeper Rae.

Strathspey fought back and they pulled a goal back in the 21st minute when JACK DAVISON hit home a drive from 20 yards which took a slight deflection on its way into the net.

City were unlucky not to regain their two goal advantage nine minutes before the break when a ferocious left-foot shot from Marc Scott was brilliantly tipped over the bar by Rae and seven minutes later the young keeper did well to hold a long-range effort from Danny Handling.

It took City just twelve minutes into the second-half to extend their lead when JAMIE RICHARDSON pounced to slot home from close-range after a Cooney shot from the edge of the box had come back off the post.

City then made three changes nineteen minutes into the second-half when Lewis Martin, Handling and Strachan were replaced by Michael Cruickshank, Murray MacKintosh and Grady McGrath.

GRADY MCGRATH made an almost immediate impact four minutes after coming on when he fired home a crisp, right-foot drive from the edge of the box and the striker notched his brace five minutes later drilling home another right-foot shot to make it 5-1. City manager Gavin Price then made a further couple of changes with Loudon and Richardson being replaced by Liam Duell and Sean Hastie.

City were in total control as the home side visibly tired and it was no surprise when MARC SCOTT made it 6-1 with five minutes remaining when he flighted a great drive into the far corner of the net with Rae denying City a further goal in the last couple of minutes when he tipped a net bound 25 yard drive from Cruickshank over the bar.


27 January 2024
Seafield Park
Attendance: 0
Jack Davison 21
James McShane (O.G.) 12
Ewan Loudon 16
Jamie Richardson 57
Grady McGrath 68
Grady McGrath 73
Marc Scott 85

Brechin City

1 Jamie McCabe
2 Ryan Ferguson
4 Lewis Martin
6 Euan Spark
7 Marc Scott
10 Danny Handling
11 Fraser MacLeod
16 Jamie Richardson
18 Ewan Loudon
19 Nathan Cooney
22 Luke Strachan
8 Seth Patrick
9 Grady McGrath
12 Michael Cruickshank
14 Sean Hastie
15 Murray Mackintosh
17 Spencer Moreland
20 Liam Duell
5 Ewan White
23 Kyle Thomson


  • On: Grady McGrath
    Off: Danny Handling ( 64 )
  • On: Murray Mackintosh
    Off: Lewis Martin ( 64 )
  • On: Michael Cruickshank
    Off: Luke Strachan ( 64 )
  • On: Liam Duell
    Off: Jamie Richardson ( 77 )
  • On: Sean Hastie
    Off: Ewan Loudon ( 77 )

Strathspey Thistle

1 Ethan Rae
2 Owen Patterson
3 Caelan Mutch
5 Ewan Neil
6 Jack Mackay
9 Ross Logan
10 Jack Davison
12 Taylor Sutherland
14 Alan Kerr
15 James McShane
28 Owen Loveland
25 Zef Ubych
4 Joe Cuthbert
8 Guillermo Perez Lopez
16 Daniel Whitehron
17 Kane Davies
20 John McLeod
22 Jack Gilliland