Brechin City Football Club

Glebe Park, Brechin, Angus DD9 6BJ

Tel : 01356 622856
Email :

Dunfermline Athletic 4 Brechin City 0

Match Report - By Steven Mew

Report by Steven Mew

City’s thoroughly disappointing run of results continued at East End Park this afternoon as they succumbed to a 4-0 defeat against Dunfermline Athletic.

Two goals in each half did the damage as the promotion-chasing Pars made light work of earning all three points against a City side clearly bereft of confidence.

Manager Darren Dods was forced into one change with the injured Gary Fusco being replaced in the starting eleven by Sean Crighton who returned from a 2 game suspension.

The game was barely two minutes old when City found themselves a goal behind. A corner swung in from the right from Fraser Aird was met by the unmarked LEE ASHCROFT who fired past the helpless Smith.

Ten minutes later Nicky Clark, who netted a hat-trick against City in the previous game between the sides, headed over from Higginbotham cross.

The Pars continued to ramp up the pressure and on 14 minutes came close to doubling their advantage. A corner by Aird was only cleared as far as Higginbotham on the edge of the box but his low strike was cleared off the line by Willie Dyer.

The home side doubled their advantage with a well taken goal on 25 minutes. Ex-Rangers man FRASER AIRD was able to advance forward with the ball unchallenged before curling a tremendous shot into the far corner of the net. Two minutes later Aird nearly got his second when he came inside from the left and unleashed a shot which stung the hands of ‘Buzz’ in the City goal.

City attacks were few and far between and it took until the 38th minute to register their first real effort at goal. Jordan Sinclair collected a pass from Dale before striking for goal but his effort was tipped over the bar by Robinson.

Almost immediately up at the other end, Smith saved well with his feet to deny Aird and shortly after, Clark headed over from a Higginbotham cross.

City went in at the break with a two goal deficit and in truth it could have been more. They started the second period on a positive note when Sinclair received a pass from Isaac Layne but his effort was straight at the keeper.

The Dunfermline supporters in the Norrie McCathie stand behind the goal thought they had netted a third on 52 minutes. Smith did well to deny Nicky Clark before James Craigen struck the rebound which nestled into the side netting.

City came agonisingly close to halving the deficit when a snapshot by Isaac Layne from the edge of the box cannoned of the inside of the post before being cleared to safety.

The home side put the game beyond doubt with a third goal after 72 minutes. A cross whipped in from the left by Aird was met by substitute ANDY RYAN who did well to rise above Lynas to head into the far corner of the net.

The game started to fizzle out but the scoring wasn’t finished as the Pars were awarded a penalty 4 minutes from time after Lynas was adjudged to have fouled Daniel Armstrong in the box. KALLUM HIGGINBOTHAM stepped up to take and he made no mistake from 12 yards, confidently dispatching the ball low into the corner.

This proved to be the last action of the game as the home side further cemented their position in the promotion playoffs. As for City, it is becoming increasingly likely that the league campaign could finish without a single victory – however there is still three games left to put that right. Next up is Dundee United at the Glebe on Tuesday night with a 7:45pm kick off.

Other Results - Ladbrokes Championship

Dundee United 1 Falkirk 0

Early Mikkelsen goal separates the sides at Tannadice.

Inverness Caledonian Thistle 5 Dumbarton 1

Thumping win for Inverness in the highlands.

Morton 0 Queen of the South 1

Morton’s playoff hopes suffer a blow at Cappielow.

St Mirren 0 Livingston 0

Saints clinch the title with a draw at home to Livi.


14 April 2018
East End Park
Attendance: 4898
Lee Ashcroft 2
Fraser Aird 25
Andy Ryan 72
Kalvin Higginbotham 87 (Pen)

Brechin City

1 Graeme Smith
3 Willie Dyer
6 James Dale
7 Callum Tapping
8 Finn Graham
10 Isaac Layne
15 Euan Spark
18 Kalvin Orsi
20 Sean Crighton
21 Jordan Sinclair
29 Euan Smith
19 Patrick O'Neil
11 Liam Watt
14 Aron Lynas
16 Callumn Morrison
22 Dylan Mackin
26 Scott Costello


  • On: Aron Lynas
    Off: Finn Graham ( 62 )
  • On: Dylan Mackin
    Off: Kalvin Orsi ( 62 )
  • On: Callumn Morrison
    Off: Jordan Sinclair ( 79 )

Dunfermline Athletic

25 Lee Robinson
2 Ryan Williamson
4 Jean Yves Mvoto
5 Callum Morris
6 Lee Ashcroft
28 James Craigen
26 James Vincent
17 Fraser Aird
7 Kalvin Higginbotham
9 Declan McManus
10 Nicky Clark
20 Cammy Gill
8 Nat Wedderburn
11 Joe Cardle
12 Daniel Armstrong
14 Jason Talbot
16 Andy Ryan
27 Dean Shiels


  • On: Andy Ryan
    Off: Declan McManus ( 53 )
  • On: Daniel Armstrong
    Off: Nicky Clark ( 71 )
  • On: Joe Cardle
    Off: James Vincent ( 74 )