Brechin City Football Club

Glebe Park, Brechin, Angus DD9 6BJ

Tel : 01356 623344
Email :

Forfar Athletic 0 Brechin City 1

Match Report - By John Hoey

Forfar Athletic 0 Brechin City 1

Brechin City won an incident packed Angus derby against Forfar at Station Park to narrow the gap at the foot of the table to juts two points.

An Andy Jackson goal after 66 minutes proved to be the winner and it was undoubtedly a deserved victory for City against their near neighbours.

Every single player worked their socks off and the manager's game plan worked to perfection. Isaac Layne signed on an emergency loan transfer from Alloa late on Friday afternoon certainly caught the eye in his debut for City and laid on the winning goal midway through the second-half but notwithstanding that, the 20 year old striker's off the ball running and link up play with 'Jacko' throughout the ninety minutes augurs well for City in the important matches to come.

Derek Young was dismissed by new Grade One ref Michael Roncone for a second bookable offence four minutes before City's winning goal and the Loons were reduced to nine men right at the death when defender Tom O'Brien was sent packing for a foul on Dods.

Mr Roncone also booked City's Paul McLean, Willie Dyer, Ross Perry and Craig Molloy while Forfar sub Martyn Fotheringham also received a yellow card in a hard-fought and competitive encounter.

City manager Darren Dods made three changes from the side that lost to Albion Rovers the previous week with Craig Molloy, new signing Issac Layne and the manager himself coming in for Gary Fusco, Euan Smith and David Weatherston who all dropped to the bench while Forfar boss Dick Campbell recalled Kevin Nicoll and Danny Denholm to his starting line-up.

The early exchanges were evenly balanced but City had an opportunity in the ninth minute when a good three-man move involving Layne, Jackson and Tiffoney ended with the latter firing in a shot from around 20 yards but it lacked power and pace and Rab Douglas saved easily.

City had an even better opportunity four minutes later when Mark Baxter passed the ball back to Douglas. With everyone expecting the keeper to boot the ball clear, he inexplicably gathered the ball with a consequent free-kick deep in the Forfar penalty-box. Craig Molloy then tapped the ball back to Willie Dyer whose fierce left-foot drive looked netbound but Loons skipper Gavin Swankie popped up on the goal line to clear the ball away.

The first substitution of the match came two minutes later with Baxter being replaced by former City striker Chris Templeman.

City were playing well and in the 18th minute, Dyer picked up the ball wide on the left and crossed into the box for Layne whose header was easily held by Douglas.

Brechin certainly had had the early chances but as the half progressed, the Loons were enjoying the majority of territorial advantage and they came very close to grabbing the opening goal in the 31st minute when Graeme Smith in the City goal did really well to block a header from Tom O'Brien after an intense spell of pressure from the hosts.

The Loons pushed forward again three minutes later when Danny Denholm beat Paul McLean on the touchline and pushed forward delivering a good cross-field pass to Swankie but the ex Arbroath and Dundee striker's return pass was far too strong and the opportunity was lost.

City hit back and a scorching drive from Paul McLean from the right edge of the penalty- box went narrowly over the bar with five minutes of the half remaining.

City threatened the Loons goal within five minutes of the second-half beginning when Layne made ground on the left but with Jackson waiting unmarked in the box the youngster's final pass was poor and the Loons defence cleared their lines.

City continued to press and in the 61st minute Darren McCormack laid the ball back for Molloy, but 'Tiger' blasted wide from around 25 yards out and shortly afterwards the Loons replaced Kerr Hay with Andrew Black.

There was drama a minute later though when the home side were reduced to ten men. Derek Young inexplicably lunged out at City defender David Bates as he was attempting to clear the ball and was immediately red-carded by the referee.

Worse was to follow for the Loons just a minute later when City grabbed the opening goal.

The ball was played to Layne deep inside the Forfar half and he did exceptionally well to hold off a challenge from O'Brien before sending a delightful pass through to ANDY JACKSON who kept his composure to drill a low shot past Douglas.

City came close again five minutes later when Jackson was provider, playing a good pass forward to Layne but he hit his shot well wide of the target.

Forfar then pushed forward in search of the equaliser and McLean had to look sharp to boot the ball clear under intense pressure but City then hit back with Jonathan Tiffoney picking up a pass from Layne and delivering a good cross into the box for Jackson whose header was tipped over the bar by Douglas.

Forfar then came back at the City defence and a Campbell free-kick was scrambled clear with Chris Templeman and Gavin Swankie ready to pounce and Denholm blasted a shot wide shortly afterwards.

City pushed forward again and Layne brilliantly turned Kevin Nicoll twice before unleashing a drive which was held by Douglas.

With the final whistle just seconds away, the Loons were dealt another body-blow when defender Tom O'Brien was red-carded by the referee for what appeared to be a lunge at Dods with the Loons player indicating that he'd been elbowed as he made his way from the field.

Other Results - Ladbrokes League One

Airdrieonians 1 Albion Rovers 1

Spoils Shared At Excelsior Stadium

Ayr United 3 Stranraer 1

Honest Men Top After Home Win Over Blues

Cowdenbeath 0 Dunfermline Athletic 0

All Square In Fife Derby

Stenhousemuir 4 Peterhead 3

Warriors Come Back From Three Goals Down To Win


31 October 2015
Station Park
Attendance: 728
Andy Jackson 66

Brechin City

1 Graeme Smith
2 Paul McLean
3 Willie Dyer
4 David Bates
5 Ross Perry
6 Darren Dods
7 Jonathan Tiffoney
8 Craig Molloy
9 Andy Jackson
10 Isaac Layne
11 Darren McCormack
12 Euan Smith
14 Jamie Montgomery
15 James Dale
16 Craig Johnston
17 David Weatherston
18 Gary Fusco
19 Patrick O'Neil


Forfar Athletic

1 Rab Douglas
2 Mark Baxter
3 Iain Campbell
4 Kevin Nicoll
5 Thomas O'Brien
6 Derek Young
7 Kerr Hay
8 Bryan Hodge
9 Danny Denholm
10 Gavin Swankie
11 Scott Martin
12 Chris Templeman
14 Martyn Fotheringham
15 Andrew Black
16 Craig Smith
17 Michael Kennedy
18 Jason King


  • On: Chris Templeman
    Off: Mark Baxter ( 15 )
  • On: Andrew Black
    Off: Kerr Hay ( 61 )
  • On: Martyn Fotheringham
    Off: Danny Denholm ( 81 )