Brechin City Football Club

Glebe Park, Brechin, Angus DD9 6BJ

Tel : 01356 623344
Email :

Ayr United 2 Brechin City 0

Match Report - By Grant Hood

Brechin City bowed out of the Scottish League Cup at the first time of asking, losing 2-0 to Ayr United at Somerset Park.

An early strike from former City favourite Gerry McLauchlan was a setback from which City were unable to recover, as a second goal from home full back Paddy Boyle midway through the second half secured a comfortable home victory.

City supremo Darren Dods made 3 changes from the team which lost out to Peterhead the week before. Ross Perry secured his first start for The Club at the expense of the new Player Manager, who listed himself on the bench. There was a swap of personnel in central midfield as Gary Fusco replaced Club Captain Craig Molloy, and ex-Dundee Utd starlet Jamie Montgomery replaced injured striker Dene Shields.

In the early exchanges, a dangerous driven cross from the home side's right flank was diverted for a corner, the result of which saw City keeper Smith dive at the feet of former City star Alan Trouten to snuff out the danger.

After 12 minutes the homesters took the lead. The initial danger from a short corner on City's right was cleared, but a second delivery saw the ball break kindly for GERRY McLAUCHLAN who, to the disdain of the travelling City fans, slammed the ball low past 'Buzz' in the City goal from a central position around 8 yards out. To be fair to Gerry, he adopted the modern approach and was respectful to his former club by celebrating his first United goal in a somewhat subdued manner.

From a City viewpoint the shining beacons of quality were the upfront pairing of Jackson and Thomson, although their workrate remained unrewarded in terms of goalthreat.

After 34 minutes an Alan Trouten shot flashed across the face of goal, followed shortly after by a Michael Donald effort which was skewed off target following another impressively pacey run from 'Trouts'. Sandwiched between this was a powerful Gary Fusco drive at the other end which pinged narrowly wide.

City started the second half with Craig Johnston in place of Jamie Montgomery, and created the first chances of the second half with a headed effort from James Dale followed by a Johnston shot - both of which carried no real threat.

After 61 minutes Ayr United secured their passage to the second round with a stunning strike. Striker Ross Caldwell saw his angled drive from outside the penalty box saved well by 'Buzz' who parried well away - or so it was thought. Full back Paddy Boyle struck a drive from an equivalent crossfield position which 'Buzz' did well to get to but couldn't keep out - much to the joyous rapture of the home support.

Shortly afterwards City's Andy Jackson beat Greg Fleming in the home goal to a lofted ball, but his header was off target.

Two subsequent chances fell to Alan Trouten, with 'Buzz' blocking one and City's central defensive pairing snuffing out the other.

After a flurry of substitutions for both sides the game entered its closing stages. City's final chance to influence the outcome arrived with 6 minutes remaining. A lofted ball into the home penalty area was controlled from height by Craig Johnston and a couple of twists and turns later, home keeper Fleming blocked the City substitute's drive with his legs - and City's hopes of prolonging the tie and extending it into extra time was gone.

The final goal attempt of the tie was a cracking McCracken free kick effort which was just over the bar.

The attention of City's new management team now turns to next weekend, when the Glebe Park side host pre-season title favourites Dunfermline Athletic at Glebe Park in the opening fixture of Ladbrokes League One.


1 August 2015
Somerset Park
Attendance: 976
Gerry McLauchlan 12
Paddy Boyle 64

Brechin City

1 Graeme Smith
2 Paul McLean
3 Kevin Buchan
4 Darren McCormack
5 Ross Perry
6 Gary Fusco
7 Robert Thomson
8 Euan Smith
9 Andy Jackson
10 James Dale
11 Jamie Montgomery
12 Craig Molloy
14 Craig Johnston
15 David Weatherston
16 Darren Dods
19 Patrick O'Neil


  • On: Craig Johnston
    Off: Jamie Montgomery ( 46 )
  • On: Craig Molloy
    Off: Gary Fusco ( 66 )
  • On: David Weatherston
    Off: Euan Smith ( 82 )

Ayr United

1 Greg Fleming
2 Nicky Devlin
3 Paddy Boyle
4 Ross Docherty
5 Gerry McLauchlan
6 Martyn Campbell
7 Brian Gilmour
8 Robbie Crawford
9 Ross Caldwell
10 Alan Trouten
11 Michael Donald
12 Alan Forrest
14 Ryan Nisbet
15 Craig McCracken
16 Sean McKenzie
17 Mick Wardrope
18 Andy Muir
19 Shaun Newman


  • On: Alan Forrest
    Off: Brian Gilmour ( 57 )
  • On: Ryan Nisbet
    Off: Michael Donald ( 77 )
  • On: Craig McCracken
    Off: Martyn Campbell ( 85 )