Brechin City Football Club

Glebe Park, Brechin, Angus DD9 6BJ

Tel : 01356 623344
Email :

Brechin City 4 Deveronvale 1

Match Report - By John Hoey

Brechin City won their first pre-season friendly with an emphatic 4-1 victory over Highland League side Deveronvale at Glebe Park.

An Andy Jackson hat-trick was the highlight of an impressive City performance with player-manager Darren Dods amongst five new faces in the City team along with a number of trialists all hoping to win a contract at Glebe Park.

The Highlanders grabbed the lead against the run of play in the 28th minute when Martin Charlesworth fired home from close-range but Jackson equalised five minutes later when he collected a delightful pass from City's trialist number 8 before slotting the ball past Rhys Fyfe in the Deveronvale goal.

City upped the pressure after the break and Jackson put his side in front in the 53rd minute when he converted from the penalty-spot after he had been brought down in the box by Fyfe and 'Jacko' completed his hat-trick eight minutes later when he dribbled last three defenders before picking his spot in the net with City wrapping up victory sixteen minutes later when trialist number 15 forced his way into the visitors penalty-box before laying the ball on for trialist number 12 whose right-foot drive beat Fyfe.


11 July 2015
Carnegie Fuels Stadium at Glebe Park
Attendance: 167
Andy Jackson 33
Andy Jackson 53 (Pen)
Andy Jackson 65
Trialist Trialist 77
Martin Charlesworth 28

Brechin City

1 Graeme Smith
2 Kevin Buchan
3 Paul McLean
4 Darren McCormack
5 Darren Dods
6 Gary Fusco
7 Robert Thomson
8 Trialist Trialist
9 Andy Jackson
10 Jamie Montgomery
11 Dene Shields
12 Trialist Trialist
14 Trialist Trialist
15 Trialist Trialist
16 Trialist Trialist
17 Trialist Trialist
18 Patrick O'Neil
20 James Dale


  • On: Trialist Trialist
    Off: Robert Thomson ( 45 )
  • On: Trialist Trialist
    Off: Jamie Montgomery ( 45 )
  • On: Trialist Trialist
    Off: Darren McCormack ( 61 )


1 Rhys Fyfe
2 Liam Forbes
3 Kevin Adams
4 Kieran Heads
5 Scott Fraser
6 Connor Rennie
7 Craig Collie
8 Bradley Manson
9 Martin Charlesworth
10 Gary Harris
11 Jamie Wilmshurst
12 Stuart Patterson
14 Sam Lucas
15 Greg Buchan
16 Nathan Ross
17 Michael Ironside
18 Ross Aitken