Brechin City Football Club

Glebe Park, Brechin, Angus DD9 6BJ

Tel : 01356 623344
Email :

Queen of the South 6 Brechin City 0

Match Report - By John Hoey

Queen of the South won the Second Division Championship in style with an emphatic 6-0 victory over City at Station Park.

City had no answer to their slick moving opponents and although the level of defeat was hard to take, there can be no doubt that the Doonhamers are worthy champions.

City tried hard on the night, but their opponents had one of those nights where everything came right and the City players should not be too downhearted given the great run they have been on since Ray McKinnon took over as manager. Very few teams would have been able to cope with a Queen of the South side who were on fire from the opening whistle.

Goals from Nicky Clark (2), Michael Paton (2), Gavin Reilly and an Ewan Moyes own-goal wrapped up a tremendous win for the new champions.

City now have the unenviable task of facing Queens again at Palmerston Park on Saturday with the added worry that they will do so without Craig Molloy, Johnny Brown, Ewan Moyes and Gerry McGlauchlan who is automatically suspended after picking up two yellow cards against the Doonhamers.


27 March 2013
Station Park
Attendance: 627
Nicky Clark 1
Michael Paton 3
Ewan Moyes (O.G.) 18
Michael Paton 36
Nicky Clark 42
Gavin Reilly 57

Brechin City

1 Michael Andrews
2 Gerry McLauchlan
3 Paul McLean
4 Graham Hay
5 Ewan Moyes
6 Gary Fusco
7 Alan Trouten
8 Garry Brady
9 Andy Jackson
10 David McKenna
11 Derek Carcary
12 Johnny Stewart
14 Alex Pursehouse
15 Ryan Stewart
16 Aaron Murdoch
17 Craig Nelson


  • On: Alex Pursehouse
    Off: Ewan Moyes ( 54 )
  • On: Johnny Stewart
    Off: David McKenna ( 58 )
  • On: Ryan Stewart
    Off: Derek Carcary ( 72 )

Queen of the South

1 Lee Robinson
2 Chris Mitchell
3 Kevin Holt
4 Mark Durnan
5 Chris Higgins
6 Paul Burns
7 Danny Carmichael
8 Stephen McKenna
9 Gavin Reilly
10 Nicky Clark
11 Michael Paton
12 Ryan McGuffie
14 Derek Lyle
15 Derek Young
16 Willie Gibson
17 Jim Atkinson


  • On: Ryan McGuffie
    Off: Mark Durnan ( 59 )
  • On: Willie Gibson
    Off: Danny Carmichael ( 66 )
  • On: Derek Young
    Off: Nicky Clark ( 78 )